top of page

Hawthorne Jacket - Phat Quarters Patterns

I had never heard of this company before I found a tester call for the pattern. I have this internal radar it seems, for any pattern that is either unisex or for boys . I had to apply once I found out it was a structured fully lined moto jacket that would put my skills to the test.

I made this one for my oldest but it comes with sizes 2t-14. I did have to grade mine a bit as my son has a longer torso so he is wearing a size 7 but 8 length, with their instructions though it isn't hard to make sure you get the perfect fit.

The testing process was long I have to admit but that makes it a great pattern when you have to make the lining multiple times before the designer was happy. Side note make a "muslin" first of the lining an try that on if that fits then go to your outer layers this way if it isn't perfect you aren't wasting your "good" fabric.

It comes with simple sleeve option or a zipper sleeve and a cuff tab option as well as color blocking. All pockets and zippers can be optional so you can make it as difficult or easy as you want. I went all out with a zipper sleeve ( no cuff tabs) and all pocket option to get the full on moto look. Instructions were easy to follow and dang look at those zippers! There is some hand sewing you have to do to make sure all seams are not shown which was my least favorite part of the whole project. This has great spaces to embroider as well or sew on patches I want to omit the sleeves sometime and try a biker vest look but that is for a latter date. I am trying to get the designer to make a womans/mens version of the pattern as well since I am jelly and want one now too.

You can get the pattern here for $8.50 and check out the other patterns they offer. In a summary I love this jacket, my son loves this jacket, and I will be making more in the future.

bottom of page