top of page

Kamp Shirt - The Eli Monster Patterns

This is the first time I have used this designer PLUS my first time being the ambassador to this wonderful designer. They have 56 sewing patterns ad 28 Knitting patterns available on their site which you can find here, this includes doll patterns and diaper patterns. These patterns as I put it are very posh and have such nice clean lines plus easy to wear and play in. To be honest not many boy patterns which makes me sad but they do have a few shirt patterns designed for boys.

This style is more of a bowler shirt (they even include a color blocking option for a bowler looking shirt) which means strait hem and the pleats in the back are farther apart on the shoulders than the center and the side seam at the bottom has a slit openings. It does only have one sleeve option so if you want long sleeve you need to try another patterns.

This pattern is written so well! I have made button up shirts before but I have never had the collar stand come out so nice before. Not sure if it contributes to the pattern, the directions, or just practice since it wasn't my first but never the less I am proud of how this one came out.

This is listed as intermediate skill level on the website and I would have to agree. for beginners buttons and buttonholes are intimidating and the collar stand does need some experience. Most machines do have an automatic button hole maker now a days so if you have that this makes life so much easier.

Now I used my serger to finish all these seams as woven fabric does fray. If you do not use your serger as i didn't a few years ago you can just use a zig-zag stitch over the open edge of your raw seam and it will stop most of the fraying and make your shirt wear longer.

This shirt is pretty true to RTW sizes but as always I do recommend to measure your child with every pattern and every new designer and go off of their sizing chart for the perfect fit.

My son then wore this shirt on the first day of school as it is his favorite and most comfortable shirt apparently and has gotten so many compliments on it. So now you get to see my shameless mom bragging of his first day of school photos because if I have a blog I should be able to force you all to see how handsome he is.

If you have anything you want to see or want a review from or maybe a sew along send me a message I would love to try and fit it into my schedule for you.

bottom of page